Skip to content
November 28, 2011 / NumberOfWays

1 Way to “Type Faster on your iDevice”

20111127-232853.jpg

Way #8

Around this time last year I was getting ready to say good bye to my faithful Blackberry device. It was a great phone for me, but at the time, I started researching the new Apple iPhone 4 and decide to cross over…to the light. But with the switch I ended up losing a few features that I found to be very useful. Some of them being the security, the physical QWERTY keyboard, BBM (Blackberry Messenger) and, you won’t believe it, the Auto Text Shortcuts.

The Auto Text shortcuts for me was such a time saver. The Auto Text shortcut was simply a way to program a couple of programmed keystrokes to spit out anything the user needed. For example, having more than 1 email account attached to my phone, it was handy to type in “QQ” to represent the email signature for my main account. With my other accounts I would program “QW”, “QE” and so forth. I used the Q to start because it is an odd letter to start with and it’s a quick button to press.

After finalizing the switch to Apple and playing with my new device, I went to search for the Auto Text option in the settings only to find that there was none. But with this being an App rich device, I went on a hunt for the perfect Auto Text App. After searching, installing, testing and eventually deleting, I came to the conclusion it was not going to happen. I would have to settle for typing EVERYTHING in…until now! With the new iOS5 release there is now a way to pre-program some Auto Text shortcuts. YAY!!!

1 Way to “Type Faster on your iDevice” (works only with iOS5)

1) Below are the steps in setting up your shortcuts (iPhone)

    On your device click on SETTINGS
    Click on GENERAL
    Click on KEYBOARD
    Click on SHORTCUTS (bottom)
    Click the “+” sign at the top right
    Add your PHRASE (OK, thanks for letting me know”)
    Add your SHORTCUT (QA)
    Hit SAVE

Below are the steps in setting up your shortcuts (iPad)

On your device click on SETTINGS

    Click on GENERAL
    Click on KEYBOARD
    Click on ADD NEW SHORTCUT (bottom)
    Add your PHRASE (OK, thanks for letting me know”)
    Add your SHORTCUT (QA)
    Hit SAVE

I hope you find this Way helpful to you.
Please submit any other ways, comments or questions you may have regarding this post, and please REMEMBER TO FOLLOW OUR BLOG by clicking the FOLLOW button to the right.
“There’s Always a Way”

Leave a Reply

